Ever feel like you’re running out of time? That the 24 hours in a day isn’t enough. I use to feel like that. Everyday. We feel that way because we often worry about all the future tasks we have to complete that we forget to be in the present. Worrying and anxiety makes people feel like there is a lack of time where there is an abundance of it, but you just don’t know it yet. I know you’re probably saying “That’s easy to say, being present is actually very hard”… I know it is, I won’t disagree with that. That’s why we take baby steps. I know because I use to say that to people who told me to “go with the flow”. I’d always think to myself that they’re absolutely nuts. But then my curiosity got to me and I conducted a small but very important experiment on myself. It was an experiment to create awareness. Awareness is imperative because you cannot improve yourself if you don’t notice your actions.

The experiment:

I woke up one morning and told myself, “Fae, today you will only think about the tasks at hand, when your mind begins to wonder, bring yourself back to the task you were mechanically doing”. Throughout the day,every time I drifted off, I brought my attention back to the task I was doing (ex. cooking, washing my face etc.). I made a mental note to notice which part of my life I think about the most and it happened to be the future. Yes, ladies and gentlemen, the future. The same future that has not even happened yet but I STILL managed to worry about it. If you really think about it, focusing so heavily on the future tasks, future goals etc. can actually drive a person insane. It’s hard to have a healthy balance but it is attainable.

The first step is always awareness of one self. Try the experiment. See for yourself if you focus on the now, the past, or the future. That way, at least you will know where the problem lies.

Step two is training your thoughts and emotions… but we’ll get to that later. Thats all for now folks!

Fae out *mic drop*

